You are here: Home » Companies » News
Business Standard

Sanjiv Bajaj, MD, Bajaj Finserv is EY Entrepreneur Of the Year 2017

Dr. E Sreedharan gets Lifetime Achievement Award for transforming public transportation, winners also announced in nine other categories

BS Web Team  |  New Delhi 

Saniv Bajaj, Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv
Sanjiv Bajaj, Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv

Sanjiv Bajaj, Managing Director, Bajaj Finserv, has been named the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2017, according to an EY press release.

EY also named nine other Category Winners for the Entrepreneur of the Year programme. The Awards were presented on Thursday at a Gala Award ceremony in Mumbai, in the presence of over 400 business leaders and special invitees.

will now represent India at the EY World Entrepreneur of the Year Award (WEOY) in Monte Carlo from 13-17 June, 2018. EOY is the only global business award program in the world and is celebrated across 60 countries.

Dr E Sreedharan,widely acknowledged for his invaluable contributions transforming public transport in India, was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. He was instrumental in the planning and execution of the Kolkata Metro, Delhi Metro, Kochi Metro and Lucknow Metro. He also spearheaded the Konkan Railway project, considered among the most difficult railway projects in the world, and completing it in a short span of eight years.

Dr E Sreedharan
Dr E Sreedharan
Finserv has today emerged to become the country’s leading name in financial services with solutions across lending, life and general insurance and wealth advisory.

Category Winners

Start-up: Nithin Kamath
Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Zerodha

Business Transformation: Ajay Singh
Chairman and Managing Director, SpiceJet

Manufacturing: Puneet Dalmia
Managing Director, Dalmia Bharat Group

Services: Satheesh Kumar K.R.
Chairman and Managing Director, Enzen Global Solutions

Financial Services: Rashesh Shah
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Edelweiss Group

Consumer Products & Retail: Sunder Genomal
Managing Director, Page Industries

Life Sciences & Healthcare: Glenn Saldanha
Chairman and Managing Director, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals

Entrepreneurial CEO: Akhil Gupta
Executive Chairman, Bharti Infratel

Energy, Real Estate & Infrastructure: Sumant Sinha
Founder Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, ReNew Power Ventures

First Published: Fri, February 16 2018. 18:18 IST