You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » Sports
Business Standard

Ekta Bisht, Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet in ICC's ODI, T20 teams of the year

England's Heather Knight named as captain of the 50-over side and Stafanie Taylor of the Windies appointed captain of the 20-over side

Press Trust of India  |  Dubai 

Harmanpreet Kaur (right) and Mithali Raj
Harmanpreet Kaur (right) and Mithali Raj

Indian left-arm spinner was the lone cricketer to find a place in both the ICC's one- day and Twenty20 teams of the year, that featured three players from the country in all.

The 31-year-old Bisht is ranked 14th in ODIs and 12th in T20Is, and took 34 wickets in 19 matches and 11 wickets in seven T20Is in the period under consideration -- from 21 September 21, 2016 to date.

While veteran batter was there with Bisht in the T20 team, World Cup star joined her in the ODI side announced by the ICC today.

England's named as captain of the 50-over side and of the Windies appointed captain of the 20-over side.

Knight was named captain after she inspired her side to a stunning World Cup victory.

The ODI side comprises players from five countries, including two Australians (Meg Lanning and Ellyse Perry), four England players (Tammy Beaumont, Heather Knight, Sarah Taylor and Alex Hartley), two Indians (and Ekta Bisht), one New Zealander (Amy Satterthwaite) and two South Africans (and Marizanne Kapp).

The T20I side is made up of three Australians (Beth Mooney, Megan Schutt, Amanda-Jade Wellington), one from England (Danni Wyatt), two from India (and Ekta Bisht), two from New Zealand (Sophie Devine and Lea Tahuhu) and three from the Windies (Stafanie Taylor, and Hayley Matthews).

First Published: Thu, December 21 2017. 16:33 IST