You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Gujarat's new BJP govt to be sworn in tomorrow in Gandhinagar

Vijay Rupani and Nitin Patel were elected respectively as the leader and the deputy leader of the BJP legislature party on December 22

Press Trust of India  |  Ahmedabad 

Vijay Rupani
Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani

The new in Gujarat, led by and his deputy Nitin Patel, will be sworn-in at a grand function in on Tuesday. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, president Amit Shah, chief ministers of all BJP-ruled states and those governed by NDA allies are expected at the ceremony, to be held at an open ground near the state secretariat, president said. Several Union ministers and other senior leaders of the party have also been invited to the swearing-in ceremony. "We have also invited saints and religious leaders of various faiths to give us their blessings," Vaghani said. On December 23, the state leaders met Governor O P Kohli and staked claim to form the The governor accepted the BJP's claim and asked the party to form the next Rupani and Patel were elected respectively as the leader and the deputy leader of the legislature party on December 22, in presence of central observers - and the party's general secretary Saroj Pandey. The secured a simple majority by winning 99 seats in the 182-member Assembly in the recently-held elections. The party's tally this time came down by 16 seats.

It had secured 115 seats in 2012. This is the sixth consecutive time that the has won the elections in The opposition Congress, which won 61 seats in 2012, managed to increase its tally to 77 this time. With its allies, the Congress' strength in the Assembly is up at 80 seats.

First Published: Mon, December 25 2017. 15:35 IST