You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll results to be out tomorrow: Election officer

The counting will start at 8 am tomorrow and the results are expected to be declared by 12 noon

Press Trust of India  |  Chandigarh 

The VVPAT machines, which will be attached to the EVMs, will allow voters to verify if their vote has gone to the intended candidate. (Photo:
The VVPAT machines | (Photo:

All necessary arrangements for the counting of votes for the have been made and the results will be out tomorrow, Chief Electoral Officer V K Singh said today.

The bypoll, held on October 11, is seen as a barometer for the popularity of the six-month-old government in the state.

The requisite arrangements and preparations were made for counting of votes of the bye-election at two counting centres, Singh said.

"The counting will start at 8 am tomorrow and the results are expected to be declared by 12 noon," he said.

The Gurdaspur parliamentary seat has nine assembly segments -- Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, Fathegarh Churian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala.

Counting centres have been set up at Sukhjindra College Gurdaspur for the six assembly constituencies and for the rest three constituencies of district, it has been set up at the SD College in Pathankot, Singh said.

The of India (ECI) has announced a complete prohibition on sale and supply of liquor in Gurdaspur.

As per the EC directive, all liquor shops here would remain closed. No hotel, restaurant, liquor shop or any eating joint, even with a license, would be allowed to serve or sell liquor tomorrow.

The seat was contested by Congress's unit chief Sunil Jakhar, BJP's Swaran Salaria and AAP's Major General (retd) Suresh Khajuria.

It had fallen vacant following the demise of MLA Vinod Khanna in April.

First Published: Sat, October 14 2017. 21:02 IST