Business Standard

Haveri gets ready to host BSY's new party's launching ceremony

All eyes are on Haveri, the launching pad for former chief minister B S Yeddyurappa’s new political outfit (KJP). The launching of the new party, considered a breakaway group from ruling will be formally announced at a convention organized at the Gudleppa Hallikeri College ground on Sunday. Though the localites are not much enthused about the historic event that is taking place in their town, the convention has aroused interest among the people as it would ultimately decide the future course of politics in Karnataka.

Former chief minister chose to hold the convention to the launch of his new party at considering several points. The main reason for chosing Haveri is that it is located centrally and it is easy for the people of his home district Shimoga to reach the venue of convention. Second, it is the stronghold of his two trusted lieutenants Public works minister and water resources minister Basavaraj Bommai.

In addition it has strong supporters in MLA Nehru Olekar and MLC Shivaraj Sajjanar. According to reports sitting BJP legislators and ministers loyal to Yeddyurappa would be attending the convention. MLC Shivaraj Sajjanar who is overseeing preparations said that Yeddyurappa had advised the sitting legislators, MPs and ministers not to attend the meeting as he does not want his supporters to face disciplinary action from BJP which could ultimately lead to the fall of the Shettar government. “Yeddyurappa wants Shettar government to complete its term. So the sitting legislators and MPs will not attend the meeting on Sunday. However, all the members of BJP who are holding different positions in the local bodies in the district have resigned from BJP and are attending the convention” he added.

Sajjanar further said except Hirekerur all the Gram Panchayats, Taluk panchayats and Zilla panchayat were under the control of leaders loyal to Yeddyurappa.

Read more on:   

Read More

AIADMK to go it alone in LS polls: Jayalalithaa

The ruling-AIADMK today said it will not have alliance with Congress and BJP for the upcoming Lok Sabha election in 2014. Today's decision has ended ...

Recommended for you

Quick Links

Back to Top