You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News
Business Standard

Modi takes oath as Gujarat CM for fourth straight time

Notable political, entertainment and business personalities congregate to attend swearing-in function in Ahmedabad

Rutam Vora  |  Ahmedabad 

As takes oath of chief minister of Gujarat for the fourth straight time this morning, top brass of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) accompanied by India's notable personalities from politics, business, entertainment and religion congregated for the grand swearing-in function on Wednesday.

The governor of Gujarat, Kamala Beniwal administered the oath of office to the chief minister along with his seven cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state at the Sardar Patel Stadium this morning in Ahmedabad. This is the fourth swearing-in for Modi, who has been holding the office since October 2001.

Chief ministers of BJP-ruled states along with those of AIADMK, Akali Dal-ruled states remained present at the swearing-in of the Gujarat chief minister. Those arrived for the event, included J Jayalalithaa, chief minister of Tamil Nadu; Punjab chief minister, Parkash Singh Badal; Manohar Parrikar, chief minister of Goa; Shivraj Singh Chauhan, chief minister of Madhya Pradesh and Raman Singh, chief minister of Chhattisgarh.

Some of the other high-profile political personalities included Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and Indian National Lok Dal chief Om Prakash Chautala.

Cricketer-turned-politician, Navjot Singh Sidhu along with model-turned spiritual guru Bhaiyyuji Maharaj also remained present for the function.

Senior BJP leaders L K Advani, party chief Nitin Gadkari, leader of opposition in the Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley and leader of opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Other BJP stalwarts Gopinath Munde, Vijay Malhotra, Venkaiah Naidu, Vasundhara Raje Scindia, Rajnath Singh, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Lalji Tandon were present at the grand function.

Among business personalities, Subroto Roy of Sahara Group remained present, stars from entertainment industry including Vivek Oberoi, Smriti Irani and Kirron Kher were seated on the large dais.

An excited Modi had expressed his feelings before reaching to the event. "Leaving for swearing-in ceremony. Glad to see love of so many people and the presence of distinguished leaders," he said in his Twitter post.

In the state assembly elections, BJP has won 115 seats in the 182-member assembly, 23 more than what is required for a simple majority. Modi was unanimously elected as the leader of the Gujarat BJP's legislative party, at a meeting of the party MLAs held in Gandhinagar on Tuesday.

First Published: Wed, December 26 2012. 12:39 IST