You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News
Business Standard

Narendra Modi and Jayalalithaa cast their votes

Telugu Desam Party that has 86 MLAs is boycotting the election

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

In Chennai, AIADMK supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister was one of the early voters at the polling booth for the Presidential poll.

The Commission said 15 MPs will be voting in Chennai. Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 Lok Sabha MPs and 18 Rajya Sabha MPs. The 234-member state Assembly is dominated by ruling AIADMK with 150 MLAs. The party has nine Lok Sabha and five Rajya Sabha MPs.

AIADMK is backing former Lok Sabha Speaker and NDA's Presidential candidate PA Sangma. M Karunanidhi-led DMK, a key constituent of the Congress-led UPA at the Centre, has announced its support for Mukherjee. DMK has 18 Lok Sabha and seven Rajya Sabha MPs besides 2 3MLAs in the state Assembly.

Main opposition party DMDK, founded by actor-politician Vijayakant, has announced boycotting the The party has a strength of 29 MLAs.

Polling for the Presidential poll began in Andhra Pradesh with Assembly Speaker Nadendla Manohar casting his vote first.

Ministers and MLAs queued up to cast their in the polling booth in Committee Hall-1 in the Assembly. Lok Satta Party chief N Jayaprakash Narayan was among those who cast their vote in the first ten minutes.

The main opposition Telugu Desam Party that has 86 MLAs is boycotting the However, a few "rebel" MLAs of TDP may defy the party and exercise their franchise.

The TRS, which has 17 members, has not yet officially announced whether or not it would take part in the

Four MPs, included Y S Jaganmohan Reddy, who is in prison as an undertrial, will cast their vote in the Assembly polling station.

In Kerala, the first MLA to cast his vote at the Kerala Assembly Complex in Thiruvanathapuram was CPI-M politburo member Kodiyeri Balakrishan.

The total strength of the Kerala assembly is 140. Going by the political composition of the House, Mukherjee is expected to get the support of 125 MLAs (comprising Congress-led UDF, CPI-M, NCP and JDS).

Thirteen CPI and two RSP members are abstaining from voting as part of the decision of their national leadership.

In Gandhinagar, Guajrat Chief Minister was amongst the first few to cast his vote.

Modi arrived at the polling booth located in the Assembly premises just before the official time of  voting at 10:00 hrs and casted his vote.

Pradesh Congress Committee (GPCC) President Arjun Modhwadia and leader of opposition Shaktisinh Gohil were also amongst the few MLAs who casted their vote. In the first hour around 70 MLAs and MPs also casted their

In Rajasthan, 67 MLAs cast their in the initial hours of polling.

Vidhansabha Speaker Deependra Singh Shekhawat was the first to cast his vote followed by Parliamentary Secretary Mamta Bhupesh and Tourism minister Bina Kak.

First Published: Thu, July 19 2012. 15:02 IST