You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

Cabinet approves 15th Finance Commission, to be in place by 2020

Jaitley also said that the 15th Finance Commission would be in place before April 1, 2020.

ANI  |  New Delhi 

Arun Jaitley, Ravi Shankar Prasad
Arun Jaitley with Ravi Shankar Prasad. Photo: Dalip Kumar

The on Wednesday approved the setting up of the 15th Commission.

"This Commission comes under Article 280 of the Constitution, and under Article 280, the Commission decides the division between the Centre and the state," Union Finance Minister said, while addressing a press briefing here.

"The recommendations of the operate every five years. The previous recommendations were implemented from April 1, 2015 and will go on until March 31, 2020," he added.

Jaitley also said that the 15th would be in place before April 1, 2020 and the chairman and other personnel would also be allotted soon.

The terms of reference for the Commission will be notified in due course of time, the finance minister added.

First Published: Wed, November 22 2017. 16:15 IST