You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

Now, Indians don't require visa to visit Qatar

Additionally, Qatar will allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries


Qatar-Gulf rift, Qatar
File photo of a man walking on the corniche in Doha, Qatar on June 15, 2017. (Photo: Reuters)

will allow entry for citizens of 80 countries, with immediate effect, Qatari officials announced on Wednesday.

The countries include the UK, the USA, Canada, India, South Africa, Seychelles, and New Zealand.

Citizens of those countries wishing to visit will not need to apply or pay for a visa; instead, a multi-entry waiver will be issued free-of-charge at the port of entry, upon presentation of a valid passport with a minimum validity of six months and a confirmed onward or return ticket.

Depending on the nationality of the visitor, the waiver will either be valid for 180 days, and allow the visitor to spend a total of 90 days in (multiple-entry); or it will be valid for 30 days and entitle the visitor to spend up to 30 days in (multiple-entry) with the possibility of applying for an extension of the waiver for an additional 30 days.

Hassan Al Ibrahim, Acting Chairman of Tourism Authority said, "With 80 nationalities eligible for a free visa waiver upon arrival, is now the most open country in the region and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures."

In November 2016, introduced a free transit visa, which allows passengers of all nationalities transiting in for a minimum of five hours to stay in for up to 96 hours (four days). In May 2017, QTA and Airways launched +Qatar, a package which includes a free night's stay in a five-or four-star hotel in Doha, alongside a complimentary transit visa.

Entry to is approved at the sole discretion of Qatar's Ministry of Interior.

First Published: Wed, August 09 2017. 16:12 IST