Business Standard

BJP issues final list of 34 candidates, repeats sitting MLAs for most seats

BJP dropped five MLAs, including former chief minister Anandiben Patel

Press Trust of India  |  Ahmedabad 

Gujarat polls, Narendra Modi
Narendra Modi being felicitated by the BJP workers during a public meeting in Bhuj

The BJP on Monday released its final list of 34 candidates on the last day of filing of nominations for the second phase of the Gujarat polls, dropping five MLAs, including a minister and former chief minister Anandiben Patel.

Anandiben Patel, the legislator from Ghatlodia seat of city, had earlier announced that she would not contest the polls.

The BJP has dropped minister Rohit Patel from Anand seat. The other MLAs not given tickets are Nagarji Thakor from Radhanpur, from Asarwa (SC) and Vinchhia Bhuria from Limkheda (ST).

Former minister and spokesperson will be contesting from Siddhpur, from where he had lost in the 2012 polls.

The ruling party has also given tickets to Tejashariben Patel, the former Congress who joined the saffron party earlier, and Kanu Makvana, the son of former Congress Karamshi Makvana, who had crossed over to the BJP during the polls.

In its sixth and final list, the party has given tickets to 12 sitting MLAs.

The BJP has fielded Bhupendra Patel from Ghatlodia, represented by Anandiben Patel, while senior leader Kaushik Patel has been given the ticket from Naranpura, which was earlier represented by party president Amit Shah.

Shah had resigned as after his election to the

The 182-member Gujarat Assembly will go to the polls in two phases on December 9 and 14. The counting of votes will be taken up on December 18.

First Published: Mon, November 27 2017. 17:03 IST