Business Standard

Gujarat Elections 2017: Amid EVM glitches, 10% voter turnout till 10 am

Senior Congress leader from Porbandar, Arjun Modhwadia has complained of one EVM machine connected with a WiFi

IANS  |  Gandhinagar 

Gujarat polls
Voting underway on Surat's Kamrej assembly seat. BJP’s Zalavadiya Vinubhai Dahyabhai is up against Congress's Ashok Jirawala. Photo: ANI

Visible enthusiasm among voters marked the first phase of on Saturday as large queues lined up outside 24,689 polling booths. The Commission said it received several complaints against malfunctioning EVMs and VVPATs, while the was also violated at a few places.

In the first two hours of polling in 89 constituencies spread across 19 districts of Kutch, Saurashtra and the southern region of the state, an overall 10 per cent polling was registered, a poll official said.

People showed unprecedented and overwhelming response in Rajkot and Amreli as sources said there was 16 per cent polling since 8 am.

In Rajkot rural constituency, a video of candidate Vashram Sagathia went viral. He was shown voting as one of his men recorded it on his cellphone.

A complaint was registered with the Commission.

The poll panel also received several complaints over Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) malfunctioning in Kosamba region of Valsad district. An was also tampered with in Rajkot East constituency, a compalin to the EC said.

A candidate from Pardi also filed a complaint with the EC for a Voter Verification Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) not showing the paper slip while voting.

Senior Congress leader from Porbandar, Arjun Modhwadia has complained of one machine connected with a WiFi.

Voting was boycotted by the villagers of Kalyanpur in Jam Jodhpur constituency opposing the unavailability of water in the region.

A total of 977 candidates are in the fray from Kutch, Morbi, Jamnagar, Surendranagar, Devbhoomi Dwarka, Rajkot, Botad, Porbandar, Junagadh, Amreli, Gir Somnath, Bhavnagar, Bharuch, Narmada, Surat, Tapi, Navsari, Dang and Valsad districts.

Of the 89 seats, the ruling holds 67 and the Congress 16. One seat each is held by the NCP and JD-U while independents hold the remaining two.

Polling, which began at 8 am, will end at 5 p.m.

Of the 2,12,31,652 voters, 1,11,05,933 are males and 1,01,25,472 females while 247 are from the third gender.

The second phase polling is on December 14 and counting, along with that of Himachal Pradesh, will be held on December 18.


(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, December 09 2017. 11:52 IST