Business Standard

Gujarat polls: Congress releases final list of 14 candidates

The Congress has been out of power in the crucial state for over two decades

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Rahul Gandhi in Gujarat
Rahul Gandhi in Gujarat

The on Monday released its final list of 14 candidates, besides leaving two seats for its allies, on the last day of filing of nominations for the second phase of assembly elections.

The party had late last night released its third list of 76 candidates.

In the fourth and final list of candidates, the party released 14 new names, besides changing its candidate for Manjalpur constituency where Chirag Zaveri has been fielded in place of Purvesh Borela.

The also kept two seats of Morvahadaf (ST) and Vaghodia for the Bharatiya Tribal Party, headed by former JD (U) Chhotubhai Vasava, which has allied with the party.

The has entered into a seat-sharing agreement with Vasava's newly-formed party giving it five seats in the assembly polls.

Vasava, a tribal leader and from Jhagadia in Bharuch district, floated a party after a split in the JD(U) and will contest from the seats of Jhagadia, Dediapada, Mangrol, Morva Hadaf and Vaghodia.

The Congress, which has been seeking to dislodge the from power in the western state, earlier announced the names of 86 candidates in two phases.

The has been out of power in the crucial state for over two decades.

The polling for the two-phase election to the 182-member Assembly will take place on December 9 and 14 and votes will be counted on December 18.

Eighty-nine seats of Saurashtra and South region are going to polls in the first phase, while the remaining 93 seats in central and northern region would go for polls in the second phase.

First Published: Mon, November 27 2017. 15:48 IST