You are here: Home » Government Press Release » News
Business Standard

Employment to People Trained in Rituals


To protect and preserve various forms of art and folk art, cultural traditions, artists/artisans and to promote cultural development programmes, the Government of India has set up seven Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) with headquarters at Patiala, Nagpur, Udaipur, Allahabad, Kolkata, Dimapur and Thanjavur. These ZCCs organize various cultural activities and programmes on regular basis and artists/artisans throughout the country are invited to participate in these festivals.

The Government of India has initiated action for setting up of cultural sub-centres of these ZCCs in their member States as per agreed terms and conditions that include land free of cost and also their matching fund contribution. These cultural centres would be under the administrative control and supervision of the respective ZCCs. At present, no proposal for setting up of Regional Office/Cultural Centre in any member State of ZCC has been finalized.

This information was given by Minister of State for Culture and Tourism (Independent Charge) Dr. Mahesh Sharma in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, November 28 2016. 00:20 IST