You are here: Home » International » News » Companies
Business Standard

Privacy push: Uber to roll back feature that tracks riders after trip ends

Uber said it needed permission to always gather data in order to track riders

Reuters 

Uber Technologies Inc is pulling a heavily criticized feature from its app that allowed it to track riders for up to five minutes after a trip, its security chief told Reuters, as the ride-services company tries to fix its poor reputation for customer privacy. The change, which restores users’ ability to share location data only while using the app, is expected to be announced on Tuesday and rolled out to Apple Inc (AAPL.O) iPhone users starting this week. It comes as Uber tries to recover from a series of crises culminating in the ouster of Chief Executive Travis Kalanick ...

This article is no longer available in our repository.

There could be multiple reasons for this.

First Published: Tue, August 29 2017. 11:08 IST
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU