You are here: Home » News-ANI » Entertainment
Business Standard

BAFTA TV Awards: 'Happy Valley' wins Best Drama, 'The Crown' misses out

ANI  |  London [UK] 

In a shocking turn of events at the 2017 BAFTA TV Awards, 'Happy Valley' has triumphed over 'The Crown' to win the Best Drama Series.

The police drama, starring Sarah Lancashire, snatched the best drama series prize from the big budget Netflix production, while Lancashire took the leading actress prize over The Crown's star Claire Foy, reports The Independent.

FX's 'The People vs. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story' won BAFTA's International Award. The show beat out competition from Netflix's 'Stranger Things,' HBO's 'The Night Of' and Amazon's 'Transparent'.

Adeel Akhtar won the best actor award for BBC Studios' "Murdered by My Father," beating competition from, among others, Benedict Cumberbatch as Shakespeare's King Richard III in 'The Hollow Crown: The War of the Roses,' while Sarah Lancashire (Happy Valley) beat Claire Foy (The Crown) in the leading actress category.

The annual awards event, which celebrates the best of British Television, was held yesterday at the Royal Festival Hall in London, with various awards given out for drama, comedy, factual and programming.

Here is the list of winners:

Best Actor

Adeel Akhtar - Murdered by My Father (BBC Three) - Winner

Babou Ceesay - Damilola, Our Loved Boy (BBC One)

Robbie Coltrane - National Treasure (Channel 4)

Benedict Cumberbatch - The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses (BBC Two)

Best Actress

Sarah Lancashire - Happy Valley (BBC One) - WINNER

Nikki Amuka-Bird - NW (BBC One)

Jodie Comer - Thirteen (BBC Three)

Claire Foy - The Crown (Netflix)

Best Supporting Actor

Tom Hollander - The Night Manager (BBC One) - WINNER

Jared Harris - The Crown (Netflix)

John Lithgow - The Crown (Netflix)

Daniel Mays - Line of Duty (BBC Two)

Best Supporting Actress

Wunmi Mosaku - Damilola, Our Loved Boy (BBC One) - WINNER

Siobhan Finneran - Happy Valley (BBC One)

Vanessa Kirby - The Crown (Netflix)

Nicola Walker - Last Tango in Halifax (BBC One)

Best Male Comedy Performance

Steve Coogan - Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle (Sky Atlantic) -WINNER

Asim Chaudhry - People Just Do Nothing (BBC Three)

Harry Enfield - The Windsors (Channel 4)

David Mitchell - Upstart Crow (BBC Two)

Best Female Comedy Performance

Phoebe Waller-Bridge - Fleabag (BBC Three) - WINNER

Olivia Colman - Fleabag (BBC Three)

Lesley Manville - Mum (BBC Two)

Diane Morgan - Cunk on Shakespeare (BBC Two)

Best Mini-Series

National Treasure (Channel 4) - WINNER

The Hollow Crown: The Wars of the Roses (BBC Two)

The Secret (ITV)

The Witness for the Prosecution (BBC One)

Best Drama Series

Happy Valley (BBC One) - WINNER

The Crown (Netflix)

The Durrells (ITV)

War and Peace (BBC One)

Best Soap and Continuing Drama

Emmerdale (ITV) - WINNER

Casualty (BBC One)

EastEnders (BBC One)

Hollyoaks (Channel 4)

Best International Programme

American Crime Story: The People v. O. J. Simpson (FX) / (BBC Two) - WINNER

The Night Of (HBO) / (Sky Atlantic)

Stranger Things (Netflix)

Transparent (Amazon Prime)

Huw Wheldon Award for Specialist Factual

Planet Earth II (BBC One) - WINNER

Alan Bennett's Diaries (BBC Two)

Attenborough's Life That Glows (BBC Two)


(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, May 15 2017. 14:22 IST