You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Biren Singh takes oath as CM, NPP's Joykumar sworn-in his deputy

ANI  |  Imphal (Manipur) [India] 

The first BJP-led in was sworn-in today as Governor Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Nongthombam Biren Singh.

NPP's Y. Joykumar also took oath as Deputy Chief Minister.

Biren Singh, a former Congressman who joined the only in October last year, was sworn in as the Chief Minister along with his Council of Ministers.

(BJP) chief and several union ministers, who were scheduled to attend the oath ceremony, returned to after their flight developed a technical snag.

The is forming in in alliance with small regional parties and is expected to reward them for their support with Cabinet posts.

The BJP, which has won 21 seats, has claimed it has the support of 33 legislators in the 60-member assembly. It needs 31 for a majority.

The Congress, which won the most seats, 28, could not gather the support of three more legislators to make the 31-seat majority mark. It has accused the of using "money power" to form in Goa and Manipur.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, March 15 2017. 14:48 IST