You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Keshav Maharaj breaks into Proteas squad for Champions Trophy

ANI  |  Johannesburg [South Africa] 

left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj has received a maiden ODI call-up in the 15-member squad for the Champions Trophy.

The 26-year-old, who made an impressive Test debut against at Perth in 2016, has been roped into the squad to bolster the spin options alongside Imran Tahir for the prestigious event, which is to be held in and Wales from June 1 to June 18.

Morne Morkel has also been recalled for the limited-overs format after nearly 10-month hiatus, thus adding experience to their already strong pace bowling group featuring Kagiso Rabada, Wayne Parnell, Chris Morris, Dwaine Pretorius and Andile Phehlukwayo.

Reflecting on the squad, Cricket (CSA) convener of selectors, Linda Zondi, said that national selectors have picked a strong squad which covers all the combinations and conditions expected for the eighth edition of the eight-team event.

"We have been working with this group of players for the last two seasons where our key emphasis has been consistency in selection. That has shown in how this group has performed over the last while, which has resulted in winning three consecutive ODI series," Sport24 quoted Zondi as saying.

"We feel we have a squad that covers every scenario that we could possibly be faced with on the tour. Most importantly, every player knows and understands their role and value within the squad," he added.

The Proteas will depart for on May 16 and will begin their preparations with two 50-over tour matches against Sussex and Northants.

will play three ODIs against starting at Headingley in Leeds on May 24, before heading into their first group match of the Champions Trophy against Sri Lanka at the Oval on June 3.

The squad is as follows: Hashim Amla , Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller , Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo ,Kagiso Rabada , Imran Tahir, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj , Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, April 19 2017. 18:00 IST