You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Making 'Ayogya' Yogi UP CM is BJP's biggest mistake: Tejaswi Yadav

ANI  |  New Delhi/Patna (Bihar) [India] 

Dubbing the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) decision to make its MP as the Chief Minister as the saffron party's 'biggest mistake', Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav on Saturday said the former is 'inept' for the post.

Yadav further said that there is internal conflict going on within the due to which groupism can be seen among the party members.

Meanwhile, (SP) leader Naresh Agarwal said that he expects to change his 'fiery brand' image and work towards the betterment of the state.

Agarwal further said that they would act like a proper opposition and observe the for six months, after which, if needed, they would speak up against the odds, if any.

"If the Central tried to bring in an atmosphere of communalism by the medium of Yogi Adityanath, then we might stage protests against it after six months. If they have the intention of polarising votes in order to win the 2019 general elections, then we won't let them succeed in it. It is our determination to not to let the atmosphere of deteriorate," he told ANI.

Meanwhile, Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu said the oath taking ceremony would take place at 2:15 pm tomorrow in in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah.

Putting all speculations to end, the named as the next Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister while Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma has been appointed as the deputy chief ministers of the state.

Adityanath had flown to New Delhi earlier this morning to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Adityanath, a five-time MP from the Gorakhpur constituency, was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha at the age of 26.

Currently, Adityanath serves as the Mahant of Guru Gorakhnath Temple in Gorakhpur, following the death of Mahanth Aavaidyanath on September 12, 2014.

The other contenders in the race were Uttar Pradesh chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, Union Minister Manoj Sinha, BJP leader Shrikant Sharma and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, March 18 2017. 19:42 IST