You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Presidential Elections: EC allows Amit Shah, Tarun Gogoi to vote from New Delhi

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

The Commission on Sunday allowed (BJP) president Amit Shah, an from and former chief minister Tarun Gogoi to cast their votes from for tomorrow's Presidential elections.

Besides these two, 14 members and 41 members have also been permitted to cast their votes in the states of their preference.

MP and Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya have been permitted to cast their votes in their state.

Normally, the Commission does not extend the facilities of casting vote by the at any place of poll, other than his/her own state or at House, since it is very difficult to send the ballot papers of all the states to every other state.

"But there may be extreme cases where some MLAs may be forced to remain away from their own state on the day of the poll due to compelling and justifiable reasons and may not be able to cast their vote either at their own state headquarters or at House, New Delhi," an EC notification read.

"In order to enable such MLAs to cast vote during the current Presidential Election, the Commission has decided, in exceptional cases, to allow the of any State to cast his/her vote at any State Headquarters other than his/her own if he/she applies for the Commission's permission well in advance," it added.

Tomorrow, NDA's Ramnath Kovind and Congress-led Opposition's Meira Kumar will face off with each other in the presidential polls.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, July 16 2017. 21:03 IST