You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

West Bengal: Local body polls begin for 7 municipal bodies

ANI  |  Kolkata [India] 

In West Bengal, local body polls are being held for seven municipal bodies today.

The seats going to the polls are Darjeeling Kaliompong, Mirik and Kurseong in the hills and Domkol, Raygong and Poojani.

Strict security measures have been made to ward off any possible electoral malpractice or violence and ensure smooth conduct of elections.

In the hills, central forces have been deployed, while in the plains the state police and civic volunteers are looking after the and order situation.

Early reports suggest that there have been minor skirmishes between supporters of different parties at a few polling centers.

The - Gorkha Liberation Front parties are in alliance for the poll to counter the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha(GJM) in the four civic bodies of the hills.

The Jan Andolan Party (JAP) led by Harka Bahadur Chhetri had helped the TMC along with the GNLF in the 2016 Assembly but has now decided to contest alone which could be a factor for the TMC in Kalimpong.

GJM is expected to face stiff competition from the TMC-GNLF alliance in this Helping the TMC-GNLF alliance will be the formation of development boards, creation of Kalimpong district and Mirik sub-division by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and exodus of senior GJM leaders.

Following is the breakdown for the polling today:

Darjeeling: 32 wards

Polling stations: 81

Male voters: 30709

Female voters: 32120

Total Voters: 62829

No. of Candidates: 95 (GJM: 32, TMC: 20, GNLF: 12, JAP: 5, CPIM: 4 IND: 22)

Kurseong: 20 wards

Polling stations 27

Male voters: 9882

Female voters: 10866

Total Voters: 20748

No. of Candidates: 57 (GJM: 20, TMC: 15, GNLF: 6, JAP: 6, IND: 10)

Mirik: 9 wards

Polling stations 10

Male voters: 4333

Female voters: 4542

Total Voters: 8875

No. of Candidates: 34 (GJM: 9, TMC: 7, GNLF: 2, JAP: 6, IND: 10)

Kalimpong: 23 wards

Polling stations: 46

Male voters: 18114

Female voters: 18487

Total Voters: 36601

No. of Candidates: 102 (GJM: 22, TMC: 19, JAP: 23, GNLF: 3, CPIM: 9, IND: 26).

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, May 14 2017. 10:42 IST