You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

234 votes cast in TN for presidential poll

IANS  |  Chennai 

Voting to elect the 14th President of saw a total of 234 ballots cast in

The polling began at 10 a.m. and ended a couple of hours later.

A total 232 legislators from voted.

DMK President M. Karunanidhi did not vote owing to his health condition, while the R.K. Nagar Assembly seat remains vacant following the death of former Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa.

Union Minister of State for Road Transport, Highways and Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan cast his vote here.

Kerala lawmaker Parikkal Abdullah also cast his vote here with special permission. He is undergoing treatment in a city hospital.

Chief Minister K. Palaniswami was the first to cast the vote, and was followed by Speaker P. Dhanapal, DMK's M.K. Stalin, former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam and others.

Similarly, brisk polling was also witnessed in neighbouring Puducherry.

Elected Members of Parliament (MP) and Member of Legislative Assemblies are eligible to vote to elect the next President.

The fight is between Ram Nath Kovind, nominee of ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA), and Meira Kumar, nominee of the opposition parties.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 17:36 IST