You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

All 38 Goa MLAs, four MPs voted in Presidential poll: Official

IANS  |  Panaji 

All 38 sitting MLAs as well as four members of from cast their ballots on Monday for the President's election, Legislature Secretary N.B. Subhedar said.

"It was 100 per cent voting," he said.

While Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, still a Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh, voted here, three MPs from the state -- Union Minister Shripad Naik, South MP Narendra Savoikar (both from the Bharatiya Janata Party) and Shantaram Naik (Congress) -- cast their votes in New Delhi.

"The votes cast in will be sent to Delhi for counting," Subhedar said.

Goa has a 40-member assembly, but currently has 38 MLAs. Parrikar and Health Minister Vishwajit Rane are all set to contest the coming by-elections to two assembly seats.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 20:50 IST