You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJD's Deb set to enter Rajya Sabha, files nomination

IANS  |  Bhubaneswar 

Ruling BJD's nominee Pratap Keshari Deb was on Monday all set to be elected to the lone vacant seat from as he filed his nomination for the May 25 by-poll. The ruling party also set in motion the process to get Pradip Kumar Amat elected as the assembly's new Speaker.

Deb filed the nomination before the assembly Secretary-cum-Returning Officer in the presence of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and senior Biju Janata Dal leaders.

Monday was the last date for filing of nominations.

The BJD nominee is all set to win the seat since the ruling party has 117 MLAs in the 147-member assembly and the opposition has not fielded any candidate.

Scrutiny of papers will be held on May 16, and the last date for withdrawal is May 18.

The seat fell vacant following Bishnu Charan Das' resignation on March 21. His term in the upper house was till July 1, 2022.

Das has since been appointed Deputy Chairman of the state Planning Board.

The BJD on Monday also moved a notice of motion before the assembly Secretary to elect former Finance Minister Pradip Kumar Amat as assembly Speaker.

The Chief Minister proposed the move while Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh supported it.

The new Speaker is scheduled to be elected on May 16. The post fell vacant after Niranjan Pujari resigned, ahead of his induction in the state Cabinet on May 7.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, May 15 2017. 16:28 IST