You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP bags top posts in Nashik, Pimpri-Chinchwad MCs

IANS  |  Nashik/Pune (Maharashtra) 

The got its first Mayors in Nashik and Municipal corporations on Tuesday.

Bharatiya Janata Party's Ranjana Bhansi and Prathmesh Geete were elected unopposed to the posts of Mayor and Deputy Mayor, respectively, of Nashik Municipal Corporation.

The election results were a foregone conclusion as the had bagged 66 of the 122 seats, with the Shiv Sena coming second at 35, the Congress and the Nationalist (NCP) at six each, the outgoing ruling Maharashtra Navnirman Sena getting just five and Independents bagging four seats.

The unopposed elections were facilitated after the Congress nominee for Mayor's post, Asha Tadvi, and NCP candidate for Deputy Mayor, Sushma Pagar, withdrew their candidature at the last minute.

BJP's Nitin Kalje and Shailaja More were elected unopposed the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, respectively, of Municipal Corporation, which was till now an NCP bastion in Pune district.

In the recent civic elections, of the 128 seats in PCMC, the emerged as the largest party bagging 78 seats, the outgoing NCP bagged 35, Shiv Sena nine, MNS one, and Independents five. The Congress failed to bag any seat.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, March 14 2017. 20:26 IST