You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

BJP loses in UP CM's Gorakhpur backyard

IANS  |  Lucknow 

Even as Chief Minister took a dig at the on Friday for its defeat in the Amethi Nagar polls, a candidate lost to an Independent in Gorakhpur's Ward number 68, where the Gorakhnath Peeth is located.

Adityanath heads the Gorakhnath Mutt and has been a Member of Parliament from Gorakhpur in eastern for five consecutive terms since 1998.

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 27 wards in Gorakhpur, the Samajwadi Party 18, Bahujan Samaj Party two, two, and independents 18.

Not only did independent Nadira Khatoon defeat BJP's Maya Tripathi by 483 votes in Ward number 68, its candidate Prashant Kesari lost in Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya's hometown Sirathu's to independent Bhola Yadav.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, December 01 2017. 18:00 IST