You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Congress MLA, 14 councillors join BJP in Manipur

IANS  |  Imphal 

Ginsuahau Zou and 14 councillors from the party have joined the ruling (BJP) in Manipur.

Welcoming them at the office on Monday evening, Chief Minister N. Biren Singh said some more MLAs would join the ruling party soon.

Ginsuahau represents Singhat constituency in the state assembly. The councillors are members of the Autonomous District Council in Chandel.

Another Congress MLA, T. Shyamkumar, had joined the after the latter took power in the state. Shyamkumar was sworn in as a cabinet minister.

The won 21 of the 60 seats in the house but formed a government with the help of smaller parties. The Congress had bagged 28 seats.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 18 2017. 15:22 IST