You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Former TMC chief in Tripura, other leaders join BJP

IANS  |  Agartala 

The (TMC) unit's founder Chairman and incumbent Vice-President Arun Chandra Bhowmik and other leaders have joined the BJP, the said on Saturday.

"At a public rally in Belonia (in southern Tripura) on Friday, TMC leaders Arun Chandra Bhowmik, Arjun Sarkar and Badal Sarkar along with 720 voters of other parties joined the BJP," BJP's unit media-in-charge Victor Shom said in a press release.

He said that local leader Rajeswar Sen also joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Bhowmik, a veteran lawyer, said only the can oust the ruling Left Front from power in the state assembly elections due in February next year.

Several TMC and leaders besides scores of party workers had earlier joined the

State President Biplab Kumar Deb, who addressed a public rally in Belonia, said his party would contest the assembly elections alone and field candidates in all 60 assembly seats.

"We have engaged a private agency to study about the prospective candidates for next year's elections. We would put up those people as candidates who would have the maximum chance of winning.

No favouritism would be done in selecting the best candidates," Deb told reporters.

The has given utmost emphasis to defeat the ruling Left Front in

"To strengthen the BJP's political base in Left-ruled Tripura, over 45 central Ministers and many central leaders have visited the state during the past three years. Besides scores of MPs, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, Finance, Health and Family Welfare and Education Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and several other Ministers of Assam campaigned for the party in the state (Tripura)," a leader said.

Sarma, who is also convener of the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), has been holding talks with several tribal parties in to support the party in the assembly elections next year, he said.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, June 17 2017. 15:10 IST