You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Himachal polls see 74% turnout, highest in four decades (Fourth Lead)

IANS  |  Shimla 

A record over 74 per cent, highest in four decades, of Himachal Pradesh's 50.25 lakh electorate on Thursday exercised their franchise in the assembly elections where the ruling and the were locked in a straight contest.

"The percentage is expected to go up further. This is the highest poll percentage recorded by the hill state in assembly polls," Dilip Sharma, Director General, Election Commission, told reporters in New Delhi.

Election officials said the polling was peaceful and no major untoward incident was reported from the 68 seats.

However, there were reports of malfunctioning of EVMs and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail machines at a few polling booths, which led voting continuing at these booths even after the polls officially closed at 5 p.m.

Voters across the state could be seen reaching polling stations even before polling started at 8 a.m. despite the cold in the single phase election. Higher reaches witnessed mild rain and snow later in the day.

"Despite minor hiccups as EVMs developed snags at some places, there was no report of any delay in starting the poll process," an electoral officer told IANS.

In the first two hours, the state recorded 13.72 per cent polling but by 4 p.m., nearly 64 per cent of votes were cast.

A total of 337 candidates, 19 of them women, are in the fray. There are 112 Independent candidates. The main contest is between the ruling and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The has projected incumbent Virbhadra Singh, 83, as its Chief Ministerial candidate, while former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, 73, is the BJP's.

Both are contesting the elections.

Both Singh and Dhumal cast their votes along with family members at their hometowns Rampur and Samirpur respectively.

Union Health Minister J. P. Nadda and leader and former Commerce Minister Anand Sharma cast their votes in Bilaspur and Shimla towns.

"The has made false promises, run fake campaigns in the state to lure the voters," Sharma told reporters.

After casting his votes, Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, who is try to get at the helm for the seventh time, said he was confident of the getting a majority.

On the other hand, two-time Chief Minister and Leader of Opposition Dhumal said the was aiming to get 60 plus seats this time.

Women, who form 19 lakh of the over 50 lakh voters, turned out in strength in the rural areas. The electorate also includes 14 transgenders.

The and the have fielded candidates on all 68 seats, while the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Communist Party of India-Marxist have fielded 42 and 14 candidates respectively.

Shyam Sharan Negi, 100, the first voter of India, cast his vote for the 15th time in the assembly polls at Kalpa in Kinnaur district.

Elections official provided him a vehicle for his transportation to the polling booth from his home.

For the first time, the Election Commission used VVPAT machines to ensure secrecy of the votes.

The highest polling station in the state was been set up at an elevation of over 15,000 feet at Hikkam in Lahaul and Spiti district. It has 194 electors and saw an 85 per cent turnout despite snow in the evening.

In Chamba town, the Election Commission made special arrangements for transporting at least 30 patients from a government hospital to their respective polling booths.

The vote count will be held on December 18 along with Gujarat.

The had won 36 of the 68 seats in in 2012 with a 42.81 per cent vote share, while the bagged 26 seats with a 38.47 per cent vote share.

In the 2012 assembly elections, the poll percentage figure was over 73.5 per cent, the highest since 1977, while it was 68.36 per cent in 2007.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, November 09 2017. 20:14 IST