You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Manipur legislators sworn in

IANS  |  Imphal 

The 60 elected members of the assembly were sworn in on Sunday.

Earlier, Governor Najma Heptullah appointed V. Hangkhalian the pro-tem Speaker and administered the oath in a simple function at the Raj Bhavan.

Most elected Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) members returned to Imphal on Saturday evening from Guwahati.

The strength of the Congress in the house went down to 27 from its original 28. A Congress legislator, T. Shyamkumar, had joined the cabinet.

On Monday, the coalition ministry headed by N. Biren Singh shall undergo a floor test.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)