You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Meghalaya Assembly Speaker election, trust vote on March 12

IANS  |  Shillong 

Former Chief of the ruling Democratic Alliance (MDA) government and Winnerson D. filed their nomination papers for the post of the Assembly

The election for the post will be held on March 12 after which Chief Conrad would move a vote of confidence in the House.

Roy, the longest serving legislator, is also the of United Democratic Party, which is the key in the National People's Party-led government.

is a two-time from Salmanpara constituency in

The candidature of Roy was proposed by legislators from the ruling side which include Home James K. Sangma, Public Health Engineering Samlin Malngiang, Sports and Youth Affairs Banteidor Lyngdoh, Social Welfare and seconded by Comingone Ymbon, Tourism Metbah Lyngdoh, Health and and

The candidature of was proposed by Legislature Party Zenith and and seconded by former Assembly

"The nominations of both the candidates were found valid," Assembly said.

The six-party MDA coalition includes 19 members from NPP, six from UDP, four from the People's Democratic Front, two each from the Hill State People's (HSPDP) and the BJP, one from the Nationalist Party besides two Independents.

The won 21 seats but physically it has only 20 members in the House since the former Chief got elected from two seats: Ampati and Songsak.

Lone Khun Hyniewtrep National Awakening Movement MLA and another Independent, S.K. Sun, are yet to declare their support to any of the two candidates.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 08 2018. 20:04 IST