You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting for 10 Rajya Sabha seats on August 8

IANS  |  New Delhi 

The Commission on Friday announced voting on August 8 for 10 seats, including nine from and whose incumbents' terms are coming to an end next month.

By-will be held on August 8 to fill one vacancy caused by death of then Union Environment Minister Anil Madhav Dave.

The counting for all 10 seats will be taken up on August 8.

The terms of three members from -- Union Minister Smriti Zubin Irani, Congress leader Ahmed Patel, and Bharatiya Janata Party's Dilipbhai Pandya -- will end on August 18.

The terms of six members from -- Trinamool Congress leaders Derek O'Brien, D. Bandyopadhyay, Sukhendusekar Roy, and Dola Sen, apart from Communist Party of India-Marxist leader Sitaram Yechury and Congress leader Pradip Bhattacharya -- will also end on the same day.

A commission press release said the notification for the will be issued on July 21, with July 28 as the last date for filing of nominations.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, July 14 2017. 21:16 IST