You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Voting for presidential poll begins in TN

IANS  |  Chennai 

Voting to elect the 14th President of the country began here on Monday with Chief Minister K. Palaniswami casting his vote.

He was followed by Speaker P. Dhanapal, DMK's M.K. Stalin, former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam and others.

Speaking to reporters after casting his vote Palaniswami said he cast the first vote to elect the next President.

Minister of State for Road Transport, Highways and Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan also cast his vote.

According to Radhakrishnan, the voting is progressing at a brisk pace.

Elected Members of Parliament (MP) and Member of Legislative Assemblies are eligible to vote in the presidential poll.

The fight is between Ram Nath Kovind, nominee of ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and Meira Kumar nominee for the opposition parties.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on July 25.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 11:02 IST