You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

JD(U) MP refuses to continue under Nitish, resigns from Rajya Sabha

Veerendra Kumar merged his party with the Janata Dal (United) in 2014

Press Trust of India  |  Kozhikode 

Nitish Kumar
Kerala MP Veerendra Kumar said he has conveyed the message of his resignation to Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

JD(U) president M P on Wednesday announced his decision to resign from the

Kumar said he did not want to continue as the of the party led by Bihar Chief Minister Kumar.

Veerendra Kumar, the chairman and managing director of the Malayalam daily newspaper Mathrubhumi, is also a director in PTI.

'I have taken a decision to resign from I do not wish to continue as RS member under Mr Kumar who joined sangh parivar', he told reporters.

Kumar was elected to the in March 2016.

"I have already communicated the decision to Mr Kumar", he said.

Asked when he will put in his papers, Kumar said 'I will let you (media) know'.

On his plans, Kumar said: "First we will discuss the party's future in the state committee and decide further course of action."

He said the Bihar Chief Minister told him not to resign and that he considers him as one of the tall socialist leaders in the country.

"But I have conveyed my decision to Mr Kumar and party", he said.

JD(U) is presently a partner in the Congress-led Opposition in

Kumar joined the fold after snapping ties with CPI-M led ruling over differences on Kozhikode Lok Sabha seat with CPI-M in 2009.

Referring to reports that his decision to resign was the first move to return to ruling CPI-M led fold in the state, Kumar said 'Now we are in and we have not discussed the issue with LDF'.

However, Kumar said he had held talks with some of the leaders of JD(S), a partner in the LDF, in the state and that they expressed desire to work unitedly.

Kumar, who was the leader of the Socialist Janata (Democratic) party, merged it with the Janata Dal (United) in 2014.

He was a minister in the United Front government after being elected to the Lok Sabha in 1996 on the Janata Dal ticket.

He was in Janata Dal (Secular) headed by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda from 1999 to 2010.

parted ways with the JD(S) and formed the in 2010.

First Published: Wed, November 29 2017. 14:10 IST