You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

AIADMK names candidates for three TN Assembly constituencies

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

Ruling today named its candidates for Thanjavur, Aravakurichi and Thirupparankundram Assembly constituencies.

The polls to Thanjavur and Aravakurichi and bypoll to Thirupparankumdram will all be held on November 19.

Stealing a march over rival parties, named M Rengasamy in Thanjavur, former Transport Minister V Senthil Balaji for Aravakurichi and AK Bose from Thirupparankundram.

had announced yesterday that candidates willing to contest in the polls could file their papers in party office till October 20 and an interview will be held the next day.

also named Om Sakthi Sekar, former (2011-16) as its candidate for Nellithope seat in where the Chief Minister of the Union Territory and leader are all set to contest.

Both Rengasamy and Senthil Balaji were the AIADMK candidates in the May 16 Assembly elections as well.

However, the poll was cancelled in the two constituencies by Commission following seizure of huge sums of cash, distribution of money and gifts by candidates and parties.

In the 14th Assembly (2011-16), Rengasamy was an and Senthil Balaji had been the Transport Minister.

In July last year, Senthil Balaji, one of the well-known faces of the AIADMK regime, was dropped by Jayalalithaa from her Cabinet and he was also relieved of his party post of Karur District Secretary.

AIADMK top brass named Senthil Balaji as its candidate in Aravakurichi in 2016 May though he was elected from Karur in 2011. The party had named MR Vijayabaskar instead for Karur.

As MLA-elect of Tiruparankundram constituency, SM Seenivel of AIADMK passed away days after results for the 2016 May 16 Assembly was declared, a bypoll was necessitated.

The ruling party has named long time party functionary, AK Bose who is also a former (Madurai North constituency, 2011-16) as its nominee for Thiruparrankundram in Madurai district.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Wed, October 19 2016. 16:32 IST