You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

All 294 legislators cast votes in presidential election

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, along with her party MPs, cast votes in the presidential today with all 294 legislators participating in the exercise.

Senior TMC leaders like Subrata Mukherjee, Partha Chatterjee and Sudip Bandyopadhyay cast their votes along with Rajiv Banerjee, Shashi Panja and Lakshmi Ratan Shukla.

Leader of Opposition Abdul Mannan, Manoj Chakraborty, CPI(M)'s Sujan Chakraborty, president Dilip Ghosh along with three party MLAs and other three from its political ally Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) - Saritha Rai, Rohit Sharma and Rai - also exercised their franchise.

Out of its 42 MPs, (31 and 11), TMC MP Sugata Bose, Deepak Adhikari and KD Singh cast their votes in while suspended party MP Kunal Ghosh was the last person to exercise franchise at the Assembly today.

TMC MP from Krishnanagar constituency Tapas Pal, who is jailed in Bhubaneswar in connection with Rose Valley chit fund scam, has not cast his vote.

The two contestants for the post of the country's next president are NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition's Meira Kumar.

The TMC, CPI(M) and Congress' have already expressed support to Opposition nominee Meira Kumar.

Legislators were not allowed to carry their personal pens inside the voting chamber and provided with a specially-designed marker to mark their ballots as per the Commission's instructions.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 20:13 IST