Auto Segment
Mutual Fund Segment
My Budget
Expert Speak
In Association With
Business Standard

BJP wins Agra mayoral seat,fails to get majority in civic body

Related News

Arya polled 1,35,647 against 1,23,213 polled by Bharatiya.

Maharaj Singh of Samajwadi Party was placed third with 84,655 votes, while Congress candidate Shyam Jarari placed fourth with 29,116 votes.

Compared to the 2006 mayoral elections, the got nearly as many votes as last time, while the BSP increased its tally from 1.10 lakh votes to 1,23,213 votes and the SP from 63,000 votes to 84,655.

Congress tally dropped from 75,000 to 29,116.

However, in the 90 member Corporation, the BJP again failed to get a majority, finishing with 36 seats.

The only other party putting up candidates, the Congress, won just two seats, while the 57 remaining seats were captured by independents with either BSP or SP support.

In the election to the Nagar Palika Parishads of the district, BJP candidate Newwati captured the Achnera parishad, while SP supported candidates Satish Chandra and Devendra Singh won the Etmadpur and Bah seats respectively.

Laxmi Rathore won in Shamsabad, while Islam won in Fathehpur Sikri.

For election to Nagar Panchayats, the following were the winners -- Kiraoli - Jagdish Singh, Pinahat - Manoj Kumar, Jagner - Vijayrani, Kheragarh - Anil Kumar, Fatehabad - Shailesh Yadav, Soamibagh - Sanjay Kapoor and Dayalbagh - Gurpyari Mehta (unopposed).


Read more on:   

Read More

GJM says no to proposed Siliguri police commissionerate

The Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) today opposed the proposed setting up of a police commissionerate in Siliguri sub-division of Darjeeling district.

Recommended for you

Quick Links

Back to Top