You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Campaign ends tomorrow for Gorakhpur, Phulpur bypolls

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Campaigning will end tomorrow for the high stakes bye-elections to the and Phulpur seats, with political parties leaving no stone unturned to drum up support for their candidates ahead of polling on Sunday.

The bypolls were necessitated after and Deputy vacated the and Phulpur seats respectively, following their election to the Legislative Council.

For the BJP, is significant as it is the bastion of the chief minister, who has represented the seat in the five times. Prior to Yogi Adityanath, the seat was thrice represented in Parliament by his mentor Yogi Avaidyanath.

Phulpur, once the bastion of the and represented by India's first Jawaharlal Nehru, witnessed a saffron surge in the 2014 election, when Maurya won the seat.

The bye-elections are expected to witness a triangular contest between the ruling BJP, the and the

The saffron party has fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from against the SP's Pravin Nishad and Nagendra respectively. Sureetha Kareem is the candidate from The party has fielded from Phulpur.

There are ten candidates in the fray from Gorakhpur, while there are 22 candidates contesting from Phulpur.

"The lotus (BJP's poll symbol) will bloom in both the seats. I have no doubt. The very fact that people are talking mostly about BJP's victory margin is itself an indicator that the party is going to win. You can rest assured that we are going to improve our margin in both the seats," Deputy Maurya told

Maurya said that as far as the vote-share was concerned, "60 per cent is ours and the rest is for others to share".

Adityanath has termed the bye-elections a rehearsal for the 2019 election.

Speaking at a public meeting in Pipraich, he said, "The bypolls are a rehearsal for the 2019 Work for the present election and also work for 2019 (election) and win all 80 seats of the state for "

According to the Election Commission, there 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh voters in parliamentary.

The ruling BJP did not only win both the seats in the 2014 but also swept the state Assembly polls last year.

However, this time the party faces a new challenge as the SP contestants have the backing of BSP.

had recently said that while her party had not fielded any candidate from Phulpur or Gorakhpur, but this did not mean that party workers will not cast their votes.

"They will in fact exercise their voting rights appropriately... As per my earlier directives, the BSP workers will vote for a candidate who will be in a position to defeat the BJP, and there is nothing wrong in it," had said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 08 2018. 17:26 IST