You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Chhattisgarh: voting for presidential election starts

Press Trust of India  |  Raipur 

Voting for the presidential began at the Assembly complex here today morning.

The voting started at Samiti Kaksh-2 (committee room-2) in the Vidhansabha premises at 10 am, said Devendra Verma, Principal Secretary, Vidhansabha, who is acting as assistant returning officer for the

By 10.30 am, at least 35 legislators, including ministers Rajesh Munat, Premprakash Pandey, Amar Agrawal, Ramsewak Paikra and Punnulal Mohile,had cast votes.

NDA's Ram Nath Kovind is pitted against Congress-led opposition's candidate in today's

In the 90-member Assembly, has 49 MLAs whereas the has 39. One is from the while another is independent legislator.

Marwahi Amit Jogi, expelled from the Congress, had said he would support The has also suspended Gunderdehi Rajendra Kumar Rai.

In the Lok Sabha, the has 10 MPs from while the has one.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 12:48 IST