You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

CPI(M), TMC announce candidates for Tripura bypoll

Press Trust of India  |  Agartala 

With the announcement of bypoll in two Assembly constituencies in on November 19, two political parties in the state have announced their candidates.

Jhumu Sarkar of the ruling and Prakash Das, a candidate and a former minister, would contest from Barja (SC reserved) constituency here.

The seat fell vacant after Jiten Sarkar resigned from the post.

Ruling candidate Biswajit Datta, a state committee member of and TMC candidate Manoj Das would contest from Khowai Assembly constituency in Khowai district.

The seat fell vacant after the death of CPI(M) Samir Deb Sarkar on August 28 last.

Chairman Khagen Das also a former MP and Central Committee member of CPI-M said the decision to field the two candidates were taken unanimously at the meeting of the Committee last night.

TMC leader and Leader of the Opposition Burman told reporters that he had appealed to opposition and not to field any candidate against TMC candidates to show an united face of the opposition political parties against the ruling

"We are hopeful that we would win the elections if we can put up united candidates against the Left Front", he added.

The result of the elections would be announced on November 22 and the formal notifications for the elections would be made on October 26 by ECI.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, October 18 2016. 13:28 IST