You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Eighteen states for junior national rugby

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Eighteen states from the length and breadth of the country are to take part in the Societe Generale Junior (under 18) National Rugby Seven Championships at the Bombay Gymkhana turf here on October 20 and 21.

The championship is being organised by Rugby in association with Rugby Association of and Societe Generale, it was announced at a media conference today.

The eighteen states are: Gujarat, Rajasthan, Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Odisha, Chattisgarh, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Daman, Uttarkhand, Bihar, and hosts

The 18 boys' teams would be split into six pools of three teams each while the 12 girls' outfits would be grouped three each in four pools.

The tournament has grown in size with the previous edition at Bhubaneswar in having witnessed boys and girls teams from thirteen states, the organisers said.

and are the defending champions in boys and girls sections while and had finished runners-up respectively last year.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, October 17 2016. 16:02 IST