You are here: Home » PTI Stories » Sports » News
Business Standard

ESPN-STAR Sports to air live coverage of SLPL in India

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The first edition of the Twenty20 league is scheduled to be played in August.

The deal includes a minimum of 24 T20 matches per season.

The inugural edition of the SLPL will see seven provisional teams compete for the coveted trophy as well as a qualifier berth to the Champions League Twenty20 to be held later this year, a release stated.

The SLPL will feature 42 international players participating from seven countries. STAR Cricket, STAR & ESPN will broadcast all the matches live in India starting from August 11.

The broadcast rights agreement also includes live coverage of the SLPL in the territories of Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Korea, Nepal, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka and Thailand, the release added.

Interestingly, no Indian player will be in action at the SLPL as the BCCI has reportedly barred its cricketers from the league.

"We are delighted to be able to telecast the live matches of the SLPL in India and throughout the region. It is an excellent addition to STAR Cricket's remarkable catalogue of content in the next year, headlined by India's home series against Pakistan, England and New Zealand, the ICC World T20, the Champions League T20 and the ICC Champions trophy," Managing Director of ESPN STAR Sports, Peter Hutton, said.


First Published: Mon, July 23 2012. 16:05 IST