Auto Segment
Mutual Fund Segment
My Budget
Expert Speak
In Association With
Business Standard

Five writers honoured at SAARC Literature Festival

Related News

Poet-diplomat Abhay K from and Pakistan's Farheen Chaudhary were among five writers honoured with the Literature Award here today.

Abdul Khaliq Rashid of Afghanistan, Suman Pokhrel of and novelist Daya Dissanayake of also received the award at the SAARC Festival of Literature attended by over 100 delegates.

Afghanistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka have sent delegates for the 13th edition of the festival. The award was given away by Dr Suresh K Goel, Director General of the Indian Council of Cultural Relations, at the Grand Hotel in Agra.

SAARC Literature Award is given annually to eminent writers from the South Asian region who have contributed to promotion of literature through their writings and literary initiatives.

The two-day festival started at the Taj city with the participation of key literary figures of the South Asian region such as Jayanta Mahapatra, Surjit Patar, Sitakant Mahapatra, Daya Dissanayake, A K Rashid, Mohammad Nurul Huda, Abhay K, Abhi Subedi and Nasreen Anjum Bhatti.

The two-day festival, which was inaugurated by Goel, saw SAARC Literature Awards ceremony and book releases.

The festival focuses on environment literature and cultural connectivity this year.

It is one of the important meeting grounds where writers, poets, playwrights, critics and translators from the entire South Asian region converge to discuss and debate significant issues of common concerns to the region.

Read more on:   

Read More

Gurmeet wins bronze in 20km walk in Japan

Olympian Gurmeet Singh today won a bronze medal but Khushbir Kaur had to be content with a fourth-place finish in the Asian 20km Walking ...

Recommended for you

Quick Links


Back to Top