You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Forward Bloc gets a new state secretary after 65 years

Press Trust of India  |  Kolkata 

The All Forward Bloc (AIFB) has elected a new state secretary, after a gap of 65 years.

Naren Chatterjee, a senior party leader, was uanimously elected by the party's state council yesterday.

The post was lying vacant after the death of Ashok Ghosh, who was the state secretary of the Forward Bloc since 1952. Ghosh had died of old-age related ailments last year.

"Both the and Forward Bloc are facing challenges. My sole aim would be to strengthen the party and the Left unity in the state. We will follow the footsteps of Ashokda and work hard to strengthen our party," Chatterjee, who is in his mid fifties, told PTI.

Ghosh (95) was the longest serving state secretary of a political party after he was elected as the state Secretary of Forward Bloc for the consecutive fifteenth time in 2013.

Along with late Basu and Promod Dasgupta, Ghosh had played a vital role in the formation of the first in 1977. The went on to rule the state for 34 years till 2011.

The AIFB was founded by Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose in 1939.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 20 2017. 12:13 IST