You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Goa RS poll: State BJP, Cong chiefs file nominations

Press Trust of India  |  Panaji 

The BJP's unit president, Vinay Tendulkar, and sitting MP and state chief Shantaram Naik today entered the fray for to the lone seat from the coastal state slated for July 21.

Tendulkar and Naik filed their nomination papers to state Legislature Secretary N B Subhedar today, the last day for entering the contest.

Both the leaders expressed confidence of winning the though Tendulkar has the numbers in his favour as his party is in power in the state with the support of regional allies.

The coalition partners in the Manohar Parrikar-led -- Forward Party (GFP), Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and independents -- have pledged support to Tendulkar's candidature.

Tendulkar has the support of 12 legislators from his own party, three each from the GFP and the MGP and three independents in the 40-member assembly, whose effective strength now stood at 38 with two seats remaining vacant.

Naik is expected to get the support of 16 MLAs of his party and the lone Nationalist Party legislator.

"All the coalition partners in the have extended support to my candidature and I expect to have a smooth sailing during the on July 21," Tendulkar told reporters.

Naik also expressed confidence of winning the with the support of "like-minded secular forces."

The two-time member from said though the does not have the numbers to get him elected, the secular forces who are with the would vote for him.

"I am fully confident that I will be the winner. We will approach all the secular-minded people who are supporting the BJP-led alliance," Naik said, hinting at a possible dialogue with the BJP's allies -- GFP, MGP and independents -- for their support.

Naik, who was recently appointed as the president of Pradesh Committee, thanked the party high command for choosing him as the candidate for the poll.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, July 11 2017. 15:57 IST