You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Govt institutes award for best investigators of crime

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

The has decided to institute an award for carrying out best investigation of crime, for promoting high professional standards among forces.

The award - 'Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Investigation' - will be given to the best investigators of forces of the states, union territories and the central investigating agencies, an official statement said.

Officers from the rank of to of are eligible for the 'Union Home Minister's Medal for Excellence in Investigation'.

Based on the average crime data for the last three years, a total of 162 medals will be awarded every year; of these, 137 will be for the states and UTs and 25 for the central investigating agencies -- (NIA), (CBI) and (NCB).

Distribution of medals among the states/UTs will be on the basis of average of IPC crimes registered by them and the crime data published by the (NCRB) for the years 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The distribution of medals will be reviewed after every three years based on the average crime data. There will be quota of medals for Women Investigators.

The Bureau of Research & Development will invite nominations from states, UTs and central investigating agencies based on recommendations from a state-level committee headed by an

These nominations will be processed by a screening committee in the BPR&D and approved by a sanctioning committee in the MHA, the statement said.

The names of awardees will be declared on August 15 every year. A certificate signed by the along with a medal will be awarded to each winner and their names shall be published in the gazette of

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, March 12 2018. 19:05 IST