You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

IUML retains Malappuram LS seat

Press Trust of India  |  Malappuram 

The today retained the Malappuram constituency with its candidate P K Kunhalikutty winning by over 1.7 lakh votes in the bypoll, defeating the ruling CPI(M)-led nominee.

Kunhalikutty, who defeated his nearest rival M B Faisal (CPI-M), won from all the seven assembly constituencies of Kondotty, Manjeri, Perinthalamann, Mankada, Malappuram, Vengara and Vallikkunnu by over 1,71,000 votes.

candidate N Sreeprakash came third.

The bypoll was necessitated following the demise of E Ahamed, a former Union Minister and leader of IUML, a key partner in the Congress-led Opposition in the state.

A former minister, Kunhalikutty is a member of the from Vengara constituency.

This is his maiden foray to Parliament.

The Office said that final declaration would be made after getting necessary clearance from the Chief Commissioner.

The muslim-dominated Malappuram is considered a bastion of IUML.

A total of 71.33 per cent voters had exercised their franchise in the bypoll against the 71.11 per cent recorded in the previous here.

Of the total 13,12,693 electorate, 9,36,315 people including 4,93,433 women exercised their franchise.

In the 2014 election, Ahamed had won the seat by a margin of 1,94,739 votes against CPI(M)'s P K Sainaba.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, April 17 2017. 13:57 IST