You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

J&K Dy Chairman LC among 6 members to complete term on March

Press Trust of India  |  Jammu 

The Deputy Chairman of Congress, Jahangir Hussain Mir and five other MLCs would cease to be the members of the Legislative Council on March 19.

According to a notification issued by Haji Anayat Ali, Chairman Legislative Council, the other members completing their tenure on March 19 include Master Noor Hussain (NC-Jammu), Dr S Bashir Ahmad Veeri (NC-Kashmir), Jugal Kishore Sharma (Congress-Jammu), Yasir Reshi (PDP-Kashmir) and Late S Dharambir Singh (NC-Kashmir), who died on December 31, 2016.

Out of six MLCs, 3 belonged to NC, two to and one to PDP.

With their retirement from the upper house, 6 seats will fall vacant in Legislative Council.

The Commission of (ECI) will also hold elections for the six seats of Legislative Council, a senior officer of J&K department said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 17 2017. 00:48 IST