You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

JD(U), NDA win 2 seats each in Bihar Legislative Council

Press Trust of India  |  Patna 

The ruling JD(U) won the two seats it had contested, while the and its ally RLSP won one each in the polls to the four seats of the Legislative Council.

The RJD and the Congress, which had contested against each other, as also the candidates from the two seats of Gaya graduate and Gaya teachers, drew a blank.

The winners, including current Chairperson of Legislative Council Awdesh Narayan Singh of the BJP, today at his 1, Anne Marg residence here.

Singh retained his Gaya graduate seat defeating RJD's Puneet Singh and Congress' Singh.

Sanjeev Shyam Singh of the Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP), an ally of the in the NDA, won the Gaya teachers seat defeating RJD and candidates.

The JD(U), which had contested two seats and fielded Virendra Narayan Yadav from Saran graduate and Singh from Kosi teachers, emerged victorious at both places.

According to media reports, the victory of BJP's Singh has triggered a fresh round of sparring between Grand Alliance partners JD(U) and RJD as the former favoured Singh's continuance as the chairperson of the Upper House, but Lalu Prasad's RJD was pushing for a party nominee for the post.

Singh's current term as the Chairperson of the Legislative Council ends on May 7.

Singh who visited the council today thanked particularly for his victory.

Media reports suggest that the chief minister is in favour of Singh continuing as the chairperson of the council, but the RJD wants one of its candidates for the post.

Rabri Devi, the former chief minister and wife of Lalu Prasad, told reporters that somebody from the RJD should be chosen the chairperson.

She, however, did not mention any name.

Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Prasad Yadav told reporters that senior Grand Alliance leaders would sort out the issue.

Leader of Opposition in the council and senior leader Sushil Kumar Modi, while talking to reporters, thanked Kumar for not fielding any JD(U) candidate from the Gaya graduate seat which, he said, "helped" the saffron party win it.

In reply to a question that the RJD was seeking the post of chairperson for Rabri Devi, he said there has been a healthy tradition of electing the chairperson on the basis of a consensus.

"It is for to sort out the issue in the Grand Alliance to maintain the tradition of the Upper House. Even during the NDA's time, the JD(U) and the BJP had retained Congress' Arun Kumar as the chairperson for a year before he lost the election," Modi said.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, March 17 2017. 19:13 IST