You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Kolkata's La Martiniere for Girls crowned National Crossword

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

La Martiniere for Girls, Kolkata, was today crowned the National Crossword Champion 2015 at the grand finale of the CBSE Cryptic Crossword Contest held here.

The prize was presented to the winners by Chief Guest D K Sarraf, Managing Director of ONGC, along with Chairman of Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) Seshu Kumar.

The two-day contest which commenced yesterday, was held at Civil Services Officers' Institute (CSOI) in the national capital and saw participation from various schools from across the country.

The team from DPS bagged the second prize while the one from Mother's International school, New Delhi, secured the third position.

The winners were awarded the champion's trophy Rs 25,000 while runners-up got Rs 15,000 and Rs 10,000, respectively.

Six teams had qualified for the grand finale after four semi-final rounds. Besides the winners two next top teams were included on the basis of the clues cracked by them.

The three other finalists were PSBB Chennai, Maharaja Agrasen School, and VPMS Pune.

The contest, which was conducted by Alan Cowell, a teacher of Don Bosco school, Patna, had 34 city rounds across India.

The CBSE Cryptic Crossword Contest is a national-level inter-school crossword contest which is conducted in two phases -- city rounds and grand finale and each participating school is represented by two students.

The 34 winners and six wild card entries of this year's contest were supposed to participate in the finale but eight of the qualifying teams could not reach on time due to bad weather.


The winning team of Kolkata's La Martiniere for Girls was represented by Olana Marie Peters and Roshini Chakraborty.

Runners up schools - DPS and Mother's International school - were represented by Aachman Shekhar and Apala Mandal; and Arpan Chatterji and Divya Vaid, respectively.

First Published: Sun, December 13 2015. 18:32 IST