You are here: Home » Politics » News » West
Business Standard

Maharashtra: BJP wins 51 municipal chief's posts in civic polls

BJP was followed by Shiv Sena with 25, Congress 23 and NCP with 18 posts, according to the final poll results declared this evening, by the State Election Commission

Press Trust of India  |  Mumbai 

Courtesy: PTI
Chief Minister of Maharashtra Devendra Fadnavis (L) and BJP State President Ravsaheb Danve exchange sweets during celebration of the party's victory in civic polls, at BJP Headquarters in South Mumbai. Photo: PTI

leads the pack in the municipal council president's elections to 147 bodies, winning 51 posts in

was followed by with 25, 23 and with 18 posts, according to the final poll declared this evening, by the State Commission.

As many as 19 other candidates and 11 independents have also been elected as municipal council presidents.

Following is the party-wise breakup of 3,727 seats in 164 municipal councils and nagar panchayats, including 3,705 seats for which polling was held on Sunday: 9, 893, 0, CPM 12, 727, 615, 529, 7, other registered parties 91, unrecognised but registered parties 305, Independents 510, Alliances/Fronts 29.

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis has termed the BJP's victory in the municipal council polls in the state as not just a wave but a "tsunami".

"This (victory) is not merely a wave. This is a tsunami," Fadnavis, who joined in the celebrations at the state office in south Mumbai, told reporters.

The government is one which thinks of the common man," Fadnavis said, adding people have reposed their trust in the BJP-led regime.

First Published: Tue, November 29 2016. 20:32 IST